Indie stars featured on ‘environmental’ compilation

Seems like a lot of artists have recently endevoured into ‘green’ activities and charities, don’t really know what sparked this sudden interest; you’d think its an election year. Anyway, The Green Owl Comp: A Benefit for the Energy Action Coalition  is a a two-CD/one-DVD collection, packed with rare, live and remixed songs from some of the world’s finest indie artists. All the earnings from the compilation’s sales, will be donated to the  Energy Action Coaltion , a non profit organization, that has as a goal educating the youth upon various perils threatening Mother Earth and how they can help.

Energy Action

Feist, Of Montreal, Bloc Party, Deerhoof, A Place to Bury Strangers, Muse, School of Seven Bells, and many other great indie musicians, have graciously accepted the invitation to contribute with some unreleased material. Think of this as gems in a closet. The DVD gathers a half-dozen exclusive videos and an interview with Energy Action Coalition co-founder Billy Parish.

You can buy The Green Owl Comp, starting from April 8 via Green Own Records.

01 The Appletrees: “Look Up to the Sky”
02 Feist: “Honey Honey” (BBC Session)
03 Harper Simon: “Henrieta”
04 Young Love: “Underground”
05 Muse: “Knights of Cydonia” (live)
06 The Exit: “Hey Man”
07 Of Montreal: “Feminine Effects”
08 Pete Yorn: “Old Boy”
09 London Souls: “Someday”
10 Citizens Band: “Fortune Teller”
11 Violens: “Trance Like Turn”
12 Bloc Party: “The Prayer” (Hadouken remix)
13 School of Seven Bells: “Trance Figure”
14 Deerhoof: “+81” (BBC Session)
15 Juliana Hatfield: “Back to Freedom”
16 Satori: “Intimate Revolution”


01 The Bad Plus: “Casa Particular”
02 Carina Round: “Hookah”
03 Asobi Seksu: “Strawberries”(CSS Remix)
04 Dragons of Zynth: “Xerathyn”
05 Earl Greyhound: “This Tree”
06 The Appletrees: “Messin Around”
07 A Place to Bury Strangers: “Never Going Down”
08 State Radio: “Camilo”


01 The Appletrees: “Messin Around”
02 Young Love: “Underground”
03 The Exit: “Hey Man”
04 Satori: “A Clear View”
05 Violens: “Trance Like Turn”
06 Rebecca Schiffman: “Penguins and Igloos”
07 Interview with Billy Parish

You Might Also Like