Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett share new single from upcoming album



Source Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett – I Can’t Give You Anything But Love single artwork

There are many things that you can say about Lady Gaga but you cannot say that she can’t sing. The erratic pop singer, Lady Gaga and the jazz legend Tony Bennett, will release their newest album together on September 23. Cheek to cheek will contain 16 lovely songs and is already available for pre-order worldwide via iTunes.

The album’s tracklist is as it follows!

1. “Anything Goes”
2. “Cheek to Cheek”
3. “Don’t Wait Too Long”
4. “I Can’t Give You Anything But Love”
5. “Nature Boy”
6. “Goody Goody”
7. “Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye”
8. “Firefly”
9. “I Won’t Dance”
10. “They All Laughed”
11. “Lush Life”
12. “Sophisticated Lady”
13. “Let’s Face The Music and Dance”
14. “But Beautiful”
15. “It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)”
16. “Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)” (Live from Jazz at Lincoln Center)

Speaking about the idea of collaborating with Tony and how this album came out, Gaga says that:

Cheek To Cheek came out of a very organic friendship and relationship that Tony and I have built over the years and it truly was a collaborative effort. It was important to Tony that this was a jazz record. I’ve been singing jazz since I was a child and really wanted to show the authentic side of the genre. We made an album of jazz classics, but it has a modern twist.

Tony also shared his thoughts regarding Gaga and her jazzy voice, in an interview for La Presse:

I do not understand why [Gaga] had to make contemporary music! When she sings great standards, she does it with such emotion… It will surprise people by the quality of her voice when making quality songs. We sing a duet again on the album, but also separately. With this album, I think she will become bigger than Elvis Presley! Of course we recorded the album in New York. As the saying goes: ‘If you can make it in New York, you’ll make it anywhere.

I Can’t Give You Anything But Love is a song that actually premiered for the first time in 1928 and it was first performed by Adelaide Hall. Actually the whole album is a cover album of some of the best jazz classics.
Enjoy this lovely song below!

You Might Also Like