King Crimson Announce Comeback and New Lineup

After 4 long years of hiatus, the prog legends are back in business, with a new line-up: guitarist and mastermind Robert Fripp announced the big news in his latest diary entry, noting that the band will now feature a seven member lineup.

king crimsonThe addition is remarkable; to be more precise, the lineup will feature Porcupine Tree drummer Gavin Harrison, second drummer Bill Rieflin of R.E.M, virtuoso bassist Tony Levin, third drummer Pat Mastelotto, Mel Collins on saxophone, multi-instrumentalist Jakko Jakszyk and Fripp himself handling the axe; yep, that’s three drummers in the band, so we’re definitely in for some seriously wicked stuff!

“This is a very different reformation to what has gone before: seven players, four English and three American, with three drummers. The Seven-Headed Beast of Crim is in Go! mode,” Fripp noted.

However, while they may be working on some songs and whatnot, it will take at least a year before they can perform together.

“All the Crims have expressed great excitement at the return to Go! mode,” Fripp explains. “Given the considerable commitments of all members, it will take a year before Crimson is able to perform.”

When and whether or not they will hit the studio remains to be seen.

You Might Also Like