Preview: Josh Groban ‘Noel’

Josh Groban - Noel coverJosh Groban gained international fame and recognition a few years ago when he unleashed his signature baritone voice upon the world, often combined with orchestra instruments leading to what many people call classical pop.

For his fans, Christmas comes early this year, as his forth studio album and first holiday compilation ‘Noel’ is set to be released on October 9. Joining Groban are London Symphony Orchestra and several guests artists and once again Grammy-winning producer David Foster.

Recorded in LA and the famed Abbey Road Studio in London in between performances of the 26-year old Groban’s “Awake” Tour, the collection of holiday songs on ‘Noel’ include such classics as “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear” with Josh on acoustic piano, “Silent Night”, “Little Drummer Boy”, “The Christmas Song”, “O Come All Ye Faithful” with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and “Ava Maria”. Groban duets with Faith Hill on “The First Noel,” with a choir under the direction of gospel legend Kirk Franklin. In addition, singer Brian McKnight adds his vocals on “Angels We Have Heard On High” and the haunting version of “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” features messages from troops stationed overseas.

“I was inspired by all the Christmases I’ve been fortunate enough to celebrate with my family over the last 26 years.” Commented Groban. “I was committed to making a classic Christmas album yet one that sounded different than anything that’s been heard on a holiday record. David Foster and I were passionate about creating the perfect collection of songs.”

We believe “Noel” is definitely this year’s best Christmas album, providing a perfect listen to enjoy with your loved ones and perfect gift for your friends. Buy the album now from Amazon. Tracklist:

  1. Silent Night
  2. Little Drummer Boy
  3. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
  4. Ave Maria
  5. Angels We Have Heard On High(duet with Brian McKnight)
  6. Thankful
  7. The Christmas Song
  8. What Child Is This?
  9. The First Noel (duet with Faith Hill)
  10. Petit Papa Noel
  11. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
  12. Panis Angelicus
  13. O Come All Ye Faithful (with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, under the direction of Craig Jessop)

You Might Also Like

  • ElsePels

    Love his new CD: Noël!
    Josh did a great job to have it sound like a typical classic album but with a little touch of him self!
    The song Little Drummer Boy is special because of the way Andy mcKee play’s his guitar and Josh singing this great song.
    Even his duet’s with Brian McKnight and Faith Hill gives this album a special UP LIFTING sound.
    I wish it could be christmas already!

  • Pingback: Josh Groban's 'Noel' wins the 2007 best seller spot()

  • Pingback: Josh Groban to release live CD/DVD “Awake Live” | ZME Music()

  • http://link Ganry79

    Greg Mendel is also, by huge coincidence, the name of the Augustinian monk who is credited with being the father of modern genetics. ,

  • http://aol henry eroh

    I tried to join in but it will not work when I tried to copy nothing happened and the web site is to long to type it in some of the other sites you can click open from the e-mail but not yours (sad)

  • Elbert Galva

    I’m really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and web and this is actually frustrating. A good website with interesting content, that is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.