Jack Johnson: `Sleep Through the Static’

Jack JohnsonArtist name: Jack Johnson
Album name: Sleep Through the Static
Label: Universal
Gender: Acoustic/Folk/Rock
Release date: 4 Feb 2008
ZMErating: 10/10
Website: www.jackjohnsonmusic.com

In case you know your music, you already know that Jack Johnson is a legendary singer/songwriter whose musical individuality is as fascinating as it is peaceful and calming. Jack’s band consists of long time members Adam Topol (Drums) and Merlo Podlewski (Bass), and Zach Gill (Keys) who joined the band during the tour to support In Between Dreams and the producer was JP Plunier, who was the producer of Jack’s first album Brushfire Fairytales. What’s interesting about this album is that it was recorded 100% on Solar Energy.Before we get in it, here’s the artist’s claim on his work, and not only:

I also have a couple of kids. My wife popped them out, but I helped. Some of the songs on this album are about making babies. Some of the songs are about raising them. Some of the songs are about the world that these children will grow up in; a world of war and love, and hate, and time and space. Some of the songs are about saying goodbye to people I love and will miss. [….] All of these songs have been on my mind for a while and it is nice to share them. I am continually grateful to my wife who is typing this letter as I dictate it to her.
I hope you enjoy this album.
Mahalo for listening,
Jack Johnson

Sleep through the static isn’t a departure from his style, it’s just a bit different, with some electric guitar and drums and that kind of stuff. Overall relaxed and laid back music, but if you stop a bit and listen to the message, you will be even more awed. Not your everyday lyrics here; in fact, nothing is common here. Huge amount of hooks here which just goes to show that as a songwriter, Jack might just be the best from the “new wave”. No songs here are less than great and besides the fact that they are great from the first listen, after that they never stop growing on you. I’ve been listening to it for more than a day and I bet tomorrow it’s going to be the first thing I want to listen to.

The lead single ‘If I Had Eyes’ is upbeat compared to the rest of the album and very catchy, and it’s just as good as the rest of the album. Every tune it’s just great, and they’re all as good as the other, except probably for ‘Sleep through the static’, but that is depends on your taste. Anyway, an album for everybody; for the yound and old, for the rich and poor, the happy and sad. A true work of art from a great singer and man; hats off! That’s why we love you, Jack!


  1. All At Once
  2. Sleep Through the Static
  3. Hope
  4. Angel
  5. Enemy
  6. If I Had Eyes
  7. Same Girl
  8. What You Thought You Needed
  9. Adrift
  10. Go On
  11. They Do They Don’t
  12. While We Wait
  13. Monsoon
  14. Losing Keys



You Might Also Like