The Police with anniversary compilation

This year coincides with the 30th anniversary reunion tour in 2007. The band prepares a tour and they have also released a double compilation called “The Police”.

The quality can not be denied but but this set falls just a bit short of being the definitive Police double disc. It feels a bit slim at 28 tracks. But the bad thing is not that it is slim but rather that some definitory tracks are missing.f54995xbhar1.jpg

The missing ones are “Born in the ’50s,” “The Bed’s Too Big Without You,” “Shadows in the Rain,” and “Rehumanize Yourself,” and the heavy emphasis on Synchronicity (all but three songs from the LP are present; yes, Andy Summers’ bizarro “Mother” is one of the tunes missing in action) harms the album equilibrium.

Still, it is has most of the best work and it covers all the familiar hits. With the second-tier classics it would be almost flawless, but as it is it leaves just a little sour taste. None the less, it stands as simply an excellent overview.

Disc One

1 Fall Out
2 Can’t Stand Losing You
3 Next To You
4 Roxanne
5 Truth Hits Everybody
6 Hole In My Life
7 So Lonely
8 Message In a Bottle
9 Reggatta De Blanc
10 Bring On The Night
11 Walking On The Moon
12 Don’t Stand So Close To Me
13 Driven To Tears
14 Canary In A Coalmine

Disc Two

1 De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
2 Voices Inside My Head
3 Invisible Sun
4 Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
5 Spirits In The Material World
6 Demolition Man
7 Every Breath You Take
8 Synchronicity I
9 Wrapped Around Your Finger
10 Walking In Your Footsteps
11 Synchronicity II
12 King Of Pain
13 Murder By Numbers
14 Tea In The Sahara

Related Links:

You Might Also Like