Download: Thom Yorke – ‘All For The Best’ (Miracle Legion cover)

Ciao My Shining Star

Ciao My Shining Star

Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy” is simply a stunning compilation, however the circumstances that lead to its inception are no less than shattering. The tribute album is packed with various covers of some of Mark Mulcahy most brilliant song to support his work as he tends to his three years old twins, after their mother tragically died a year ago. If the name Mark Mulcahy seems a bit obscure, know he’s one of the most well sought songwriters of the late ’80s, fronting the New Haven alt rock band Miracle Legion, as well as the more known band Polaris, who served as the house band on The Adventures of Pete & Pete.

A total of 21 artists contributed to the compilation, including Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, The National, R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe, Dinosaur Jr. or Frank Black. Moreover, it’s said an additional 20 tracks compilation, this time digital, will be released too, which will include Mark Mulcahy covers by the likes of A.C. Newman, Buffalo Tom and Laura Veirs.

“All For The Best” is one of Mark’s most beautifully crafted songs, a deep, introspective track – very R.E.M.-like. Thom, however, managed to simply make the song his own, adding his signature sound print to the song, while still retaining the original’s essence. Minimal electronica, fine percussion, coupled with Thom’s elusive vocals seem like they consist an entirely new song. Definitely, these are the best kind of covers.

[MP3] Miracle Legion – ‘All For The Best’
[MP3] Thom Yorke – ‘All For The Best’ (zShare) (stream the song @ stereogum)

This is definitely gonna be one of the best cover LPs of the year, in close competition with personal favorite Dark Was The Night. Hey, if I got you too exited, know that the wait isn’t that far fetched, the LP coming out on September 29th via Shout! Factory. As a bonus, here’s another excellent cover from the compilation, this time it’s the National covering one of Polaris’ classics – “Ashamed of The Story I Told.”

[MP3] Polaris – ‘Ashamed of The Story I Told’
[Mp3] The National – ‘Ashamed of The Story I Told’

Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy tracklist:

01 Thom Yorke – “All For The Best”
02 The National – “Ashamed Of The Story I Told”
03 Michael Stipe – “Everything’s Coming Undone”
04 David Berkeley – “Loves The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up”
05 Dinosaur Jr. – “The Backyard”
06 Chris Harford & Mr Ray Neal – “Micon The Icon”
07 Frank Black – “Bill Jocko”
08 Vic Chesnutt – “Little Man”
09 Unbelievable Truth – “Ciao My Shining Star”
10 Butterflies Of Love – “I Have Patience”
11 Chris Collingwood (Fountains Of Wayne) – “Cookie Jar”
12 Frank Turner – “The Quiet One”
13 Rocket From The Tombs – “In Pursuit Of Your Happiness”
14 Ben Kweller – “Wake Up Whispering”
15 Josh Rouse – “I Woke Up In The Mayflower”
16 Autumn Defense – “Paradise”
17 Hayden -“Happy Birthday Yesterday”
18 Juliana Hatfield – “We’re Not In Charleston Anymore”
19 Mercury Rev – “Sailors And Animals”
20 Elvis Perkins – “She Watches Over Me”
21 Sean Watkins – “A World Away From This One”

[MP3s courtesy of I Am Fuel, You Are Friends]

You Might Also Like