New Queen …errr I mean Muse song



Before listening Muse‘s latest single, “United States of Eurasia,” I was totally psyched about hearing their new and upcoming album “The Resistance.” Yes, I’m terribly disappointed with Muse on this one, and it’s pretty plainly easy to see why, since the song fails to deliver on so many fronts. Simply put, it sounds like a bad Queen cover. A surprisingly unoriginal and unimaginative track, especially coming from a band like Muse that tailors itself as prog rock outfit. What I liked, though, was the single’s release concept – the song was split into six parts, scattered across six city around the world, while fans had to go on a USB treasure hunt and paste the parts together to be able to listen to the song. Speaking of which, you can download and stream bellow.

[MP3] Muse – ‘United States of Eurasia’

As previously reported, The Resistance will be out September 14th via Warner Bros.

You Might Also Like

  • Pingback: New Queen …errr I mean Muse song | ZME Music | Muse - The Resistance()

  • kev

    Thanks Tibi. Just a quick note: This is not a Single off the album, but actually just a track from the middle of the upcoming CD. It looks like “The Resistance” is gonna be a concept-album, so this song might fit within a story/theme running through the album. The first Single is going to be “Uprising”.

  • Slippy Sloppy

    It sounds like 15 different Queen songs in a fight with the theme tune from the OC. The outro also sounds like the music from the Incredible Hulk and at this point I imagine a white faced french mime will appear in the video, crying into his flower and smoking a Hamlet whilst wiping his arse on some extra soft loo roll.

  • Tibi Puiu

    @kev: thanks for the insight, Kev.
    @slippy sloppy: rofl, mate!

  • Everyworld

    I have to disagree with you, Tibi. Yes, US of E does sound like a Queen song, but certainly not in a bad way. You probably need to listen to the song a few more times in order for it to grow on you. And even if you don’t like it, remember it’s just one track off the album. If US of E turns out to be the worst song on the record, then more power to this awesome, awesome band. This is the first time in my life I have felt such a powerful attachment to a band. Those guys are EPIC.

  • Tibi Puiu

    @Everyworld: Trust me, I gave the songs tons of spins, but it’s really not sinking into me at all. I too am a big Muse fan, after all that’s why I gave US of E so many chances, and am well aware that a bad song, how ever questionable it may be, doesn’t make the whole album stink. I’m with you on this one, and hope Muse will release an album worth remembering 20 years from now, but I think something inside me begs to differ.

    Oh well. go muse!

  • Screenager

    Everyone’s entitled to opinion but to say that USoE sounds like a Queen song is a bit over exaggerated. About 8 seconds of the whole 3 1/2 minute track sounds like Queen. The rest of the track still carries Muse’s powerful music.

  • Chris

    Eh? I’m a little confused… are we talking about the same song? This is a brilliant track – okay, so it’s a departure from classic Muse (yes, change is scary!), but c’mon guys it doesn’t deserve the slagging you’re dishing out. So it’s a little Queenish? They’ve always been a little Queenish. Check out Soldier’s Poem or Take A Bow…So what? This song is powerful. It builds from quiet ballad into monster prog rock, with middle eastern sounds reminiscent of Zeppelin’s Kashmir. Muse promised that Resistance would be more orchestral, and I hope that the rest of the album has the same grunt as this track. I love it.

  • Helen

    While I agree that the ‘Be only one’ part bears striking resemblance to Queen, the rest of it really doesn’t. There’s the Arabic scale, the hilarious ‘EuraSIA! SIA! SIA!’ part, that even Matt said when they were writing they were laughing at, and the heavy bass.

    It all comes down to opinion. If a song doesn’t gel with you, it doesn’t gel with you, and nobody can do anything about it. I personally love USoE, Uprising’s awesome too, nowhere near as godo as any of the songs of Abso or OoS, but still pretty damn good.

  • MuseFan:)

    Um… excuse me?
    OK, this song may bear a slight resemblance to Queen songs, but at least they experiment with different styles of music and don’t just think ‘yeah, that song sold well… we’ll just stick to that kind of thing, then.’
    Obviously none of you people dissing this song saw the amazing Jools Holland performance- LOVE the strings!

    I mean c’mon. Even at 13 years old I can say that you guys are over-exaggerating the Queen thing here.

    WOO GO MUSE!!!!!!best band ever;) can’t wait till November…

  • http://ZMEMusic Inspired

    I think Uprising is Awesome, once again Muse Rocks Way Deep.
    They know what they are talking about. I am impressed with the subject matter, and its hard for me not to feel it.

  • mrs.mike dirnt

    I thought this cd…The Resistance was amazing!!! Ecpecially the songs “Uprising” and “Undisclosed Desires” I loved it soo much that i’m going to their concert at the Boston Gardens on March 7!!!!!

  • Powerseller

    I have to express my admiration for your generosity giving support to men who require help with that theme. Your very own dedication to passing the message up and down appeared to be certainly advantageous and has really encouraged others much like me to get to their dreams. Your own valuable report denotes so much to me and still more to my office workers. Regards; from everyone of us.

  • ochronne

    I not to mention my buddies have been examining the good advice found on the blog and immediately got an awful suspicion I had not expressed respect to the web blog owner for those techniques. All the boys ended up as a consequence thrilled to read all of them and now have actually been loving these things. Many thanks for indeed being considerably helpful as well as for considering this sort of impressive information millions of individuals are really desperate to learn about. My personal honest apologies for not saying thanks to you earlier.

  • wantonsoup